An uncommon silence By William Bowles

27 November 2012

I decided to update this a little largely because I’ve had some responses to it that have made me think a little more about why I find it so difficult to put (virtual) pen to (virtual) paper (though I actually do a lot of my initial writing in my ever-present notebook). One reader wrote to me, in part:

in fact i have you in my files with other i find indispensable writers and speakers who are striving to reach us all. i know you’re not wasting your time.

Thank you, I only wish there were more people like this. It’s heartening to get such responses even if they’re few and far between. The net effect was to make me feel guilty about not writing but it’s the way I feel. A fellow writer commiserated telling me:

I share your sense that it might not be worth banging on about politics for a while.

Though I’ve never thought I was ‘banging on about politics’, rather trying to make sense of this insane, capitalist world we live in.

Original post 26 November 2012:

Long time readers will probably be curious as to why I haven’t been publishing any of my own writing since having a heart attack back in April.

Well it’s partly down to my illness but largely it’s due to my utter despondency about the state of affairs. Though it’s not that I haven’t been writing (and reading a lot), I just haven’t been publishing anything. We seem to be headed for extinction at a fast rate of knots and nobody seems too concerned about it judging by the lack of reaction to events. So why bother?

Frankly, it’s all I can do to at least keep the site updated with the usual crop of articles and digests. So what’s to be done? I think I’ll have to get back to you on this.

One thought on “An uncommon silence By William Bowles

  1. Julian says:

    I have always found your articles thoughtful and they have good insights. I assumed you had stopped writing because of ill-health. I know that the current climate (!) is depressing but I do assure you that you have an audience waiting to hear what you have to say.

    best wishes, Julian

    Like

Leave a Reply

